Home > About > Staff

Staff

DirectorsAcademic staff | Research staff | Admin and support staff

Directors

Karen Sliwa-Hahnle
Prof. Karen Sliwa-Hahnle

Director CHI
MD, PhD, FESC, FACC, FAHA, DTM
Professor of Cardiology, Faculty of Health Sciences
P: +27 (0)21 406 6457 | E: karen.sliwa-hahnle@uct.ac.za
View bio Google Scholar |  
CHI research groups: Cardiac Disease in Maternity (CDM) (Lead), Heart of Africa (Lead)
CHI membership: Full member

Sandrine Lecour
Prof. Sandrine Lecour

Deputy Director CHI
PharmD, (Dijon, France), PhD
P: +27 (0)21 406 6278 | E: sandrine.lecour@uct.ac.za
View bio |  Google Scholar | 
CHI research group: Cardioprotection (Lead)
CHI membership: Full member

Academic staff

Dirk Blom
Prof. Dirk Blom

MBChB, MMed (Int Med), FCP (SA), PhD
Head of Division of Lipidology, University of Cape Town
P: +27 (0)21 406 6358 | E: dirk.blom@uct.ac.za
View bio Google Scholar |  
CHI research group: Lipid Research (Lead)
CHI membership: Full member

 

Sandra Mukasa
Dr Sandra Mukasa

MBChB, Diploma in the Management of HIV and AIDS, MBA candidate
Deputy Group Leader, Site Director StatinTB trial and Principal Investigator
P: +27 (0)21 406 6088 | E: sandra.mukasa@uct.ac.za
View bio |  Google Scholar | 
CHI research group: General Medicine & Global Health (GMCH)
CHI membership: Associate member

Ntobeko Ntusi
Prof. Ntobeko AB Ntusi

BSc(hons), MBChB, DPhi,l MD, FRCP, FRSSA
Department of Medicine
P: +27 (0)21 650 9111 | E: ntobeko.ntusi@uct.ac.za
View bio Google Scholar |  
CHI research group: Cardiac Imaging and Inflammation (Lead)
CHI membership: Full member

Gasnat Shaboodien
Prof. Gasnat Shaboodien

Cardiovascular Genetics Lab
P: +27 (0)21 406 6615 | E: gasnat.shaboodien@uct.ac.za
View bio Google Scholar |  
CHI research group: Cardiovascular Genetics (CVG) (Lead)
CHI membership: Full member

Friedrich Thienemann
Prof. Friedrich Thienemann

Internal Medicine & Infectious Diseases Specialist, DTMPH, MSc International Health
Honorary Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
P: +27 (0)21 406 6358 | E: friedrich.thienemann@uct.ac.za
View bio Google Scholar |  
CHI research groups: General Medicine & Global Health – GMGH (Lead) | Heart of Africa
CHI membership: Full member

Karen Wolmarans
Dr Karen Wolmarans

MBChB
Senior Medical Officer and Sub-Investigator
P: +27 (0)21 406 6088 | E: karen.wolmarans@uct.ac.za
View bio |  Google Scholar | 
CHI research group: General Medicine & Global Health (GMCH)
CHI membership: Associate member

Liesl Zühlke
Prof. Liesl Zühlke

Faculty of Health Sciences
P: +27 (0)21 650 2373 | E: liesl.zuhlke@uct.ac.za
View bio Google Scholar |  
CHI research group: Partnerships for Children with Heart Disease in Africa (PROTEA) (Lead)
CHI membership: Full member

Research staff

Siphokazi Khonkwane

Clinical Research Worker 
P: +27 (0)21 650 9111 | E: siphokazi.khonkwane@uct.ac.za
CHI research group: General Medicine & Global Health (GMGH)

Antoneta Mashinyira

Data Quality Officer 
P: +27 (0)21 361 4592 | E: antoneta.mashinyira@uct.ac.za
View bio
CHI research group: General Medicine & Global Health (GMGH)

Phila Mawu

Study Nurse
P: +27 (0)21 650 9111 | E: phila.mawu@uct.ac.za
CHI research group: General Medicine & Global Health (GMGH)

Nosipho Portia Mkuzangwe
Nosipho Portia Mkuzangwe

Study Coordinator 
P: +27 (0)21 650 9111 | E: nosie.mkuzangwe@uct.ac.za
CHI research group: General Medicine & Global Health (GMGH)

 Lameez Pearce
Lameez Pearce

Research Assistant
P: +27 (0)21 650 9111 | E: lameez.fredericks@uct.ac.za
CHI research group: Cardiovascular Genetics Group (CVG)

Ndilisa Siwela

Clinical Research Worker 
P: +27 (0)21 650 9111 | E: lisa.siwela@uct.ac.za
CHI research group: General Medicine & Global Health (GMGH)

Richard Vuyo Valela 

Participant Manager
P: +27 (0)21 650 9111 | E: vuyo.valela@uct.ac.za
CHI research group: General Medicine & Global Health (GMGH)

Admin and support staff 

Kim Brooks

Senior Secretary 
P: +27 (0)21 650 7186 | E: kim.brooks@uct.ac.za
CHI research group: Cardiovascular Genetics Group (CVG)  

 Maggie Grootboom
Maggie Grootboom

Administrative Assistant 
P: +27 (0)21 406 6358 | E: maggie.grootboom@uct.ac.za  

Nolusindiso Thelma Lokruzo

Clinic Assistant
P: +27 (0)21 650 9111 | E: nolusindiso.lokruzo@uct.ac.za
CHI research group: General Medicine & Global Health (GMGH)

Mlamli Tshaka
Mlamli Tshaka

Web Content Administrator 
P: +27 (0)21 406 6350 | E: mlamli.tshaka@uct.ac.za

Patricia Van der Walt

Departmental Assistant 
P: +27 (0)21 406 6350 | E: patricia.vanderwalt@uct.ac.za

TOP